‘Dark Confluence’ – Book 1 of ‘The Darkening’ trilogy

‘Dark Confluence’ is now available for download from Amazon, Kindle and also from Smashwords. It will soon be available on other ebook platforms.

‘Dark Confluence’ is not what you call generic dark fantasy – it is set in a country town in the Sunshine Coast Hinterland of Queensland, Australia, and there is not a single vampire or werewolf in sight!

I wrote ‘Dark Confluence’ for two reasons. Firstly, because I love dark fantasy/paranormal fiction and wanted to write a story in that genre. Secondly, because Australia doesn’t have many, if any adult fairy tales set here, and I wanted to create one.  I also wanted to write a dark fantasy with a mature-aged heroine. So many books in that genre feature teenagers – as a mature woman I felt disengaged from those characters, I could not relate to them, so Jen McDonald was born.

There is now a new Facebook page dedicated to ‘The Darkening’ trilogy.

Here is a reader’s thoughts about ‘Dark Confluence’:

A Must Read! July 8, 2012
Format:Kindle Edition|Amazon Verified Purchase
I have to admit I don’t normally go for the more terrifying books. However, Dark Confluence by Rosemary Fryth is just too good to pass up. It’s spooky without being cheesy and not over the top with gore and violence. Instead it’s fantastically scary, suspenseful and thought provoking. I lost sleep while reading this book, it’s definitely a page turner!
I thoroughly enjoyed the main character, Jen. She is an incredible heroine. She finds herself at the center of a paranormal crisis in the small town where she lives and instead of running from the trouble, she learns how to face it. Brave, compassionate, and selfless, Jen makes it very easy to get behind her. I also enjoyed that the main character wasn’t a teen, but a grown woman. It’s nice to read about adults from time to time.
Fryth’s tale is creepy but filled with the beauty of the Australian countryside. It’s written in the third person which I love because you get to see the story progress from different perspectives. I enjoyed this book from start to finish and I will definitely be checking out the rest of Fryth’s work.
(5 stars)

‘Dark Confluence’ is free to download from Smashwords

‘Dark Confluence’ is free to download from Free-eBooks.net

‘Dark Confluence’ is free (when price matched) to download from Amazon.com

‘Dark Confluence’ is free (when price matched) to download from Amazon.co.uk

‘Dark Confluence’ is free (when price matched) to download from Amazon.com.au

Note: For potential Kindle readers – If you don’t yet possess a Kindle, but still want to read this book, all you need do is download the free software called ‘Kindle for PC’.  The following link will take you to the Amazon site where you can download this software.

(I hope to later include ‘Dark Confluence’ in paperback format.)


Here is some more about the story:

The small Queensland country town of Emerald Hills is under siege by paranormal forces!

Jen McDonald faces a quandary. Traumatised by a car accident after seeing a mysterious, dark-shrouded figure on the road, Jen believes she may be losing her mind. Maybe there is instead a far more malign reason for the mysterious and frightening goings-on in Emerald Hills. Perhaps the enigmatic and otherworldly Fionn has the answers she needs?

As the mystery unfolds before her, Jen begins to feel trapped, not only between warring factions of the supernatural Faeries, but also by her desire for one of them. She does not want to be a heroine, but it is possible that her newly discovered and special gift will force her to be the town’s defender.

Author’s Note: ‘Dark Confluence’ is an Australian-based, short novel in the dark fantasy/paranormal fantasy/paranormal romance genres. It is a contemporary and topical adult fable and is written for readers eighteen years and older.

Word count – 56,000


For those who may have wondered where in the world the fictional town
of ‘Emerald Hills’ is set.


Here is a brief extract from chapter three of the novel:

The ground was tipping crazily around her as she drove her car down the road. She knew where she was, yet she didn’t. Everything was familiar, yet strange. Nothing seemed to be right or normal. As she crested the top of the hill, the landscape firmed into solidity. She drove through the lush green of farmlands, which gave way to houses and signed streets. Suddenly, in front of her, she saw a figure in the middle of her lane. She hit the brake and saw the tall woman, clothed in a long black dress and cloaked and hooded in a dark cape, stand and stare at her. From her hands, hung a long piece of grey cloth dripping with what looked like water. As Jen’s body flew forward, the woman suddenly vanished, dissolving into a pack of crows that circled once and then flew off. The last thing she heard was the screeching of the brakes.
Like a swarm of demented bees, the alarm clock buzzed incessantly. Jen sat up in bed, her body bathed in sweat and her waist long dark and silver streaked hair in its customary braid was a tangled mess. Her pulse racing and her breathing shallow, Jen sat shivering for a few minutes, trying to calm down and to ease her rapidly beating heart to a degree of normalcy.
“Is that what I saw?” Jen wondered aloud, vividly recalling the strange gaunt woman on the road.
She shook her head dismissively, attributing the dream to the trauma of the accident.
“Surely not,” she muttered, sloughing off her nightdress, and she headed into the shower, hoping that the hot water and steam would wash away the memory of that unsettling vision. Eventually, she relaxed, the residual stiffness easing from her neck and shoulders.
Drying herself, she dressed in her customary cotton pants and t-shirt and then padded around the house barefoot, making a cup of tea, organising breakfast for herself, and all that time, her mind consumed by the dream image.
“Enough!” she chastised herself, “This is not getting me paid, back to work Jen, me lass.”


©  This work is copyright. Apart from any use permitted under the Copyright Act 1968, no part may be reproduced by any process, nor may any other exclusive right be exercised, without the permission of the author. Dated: September, 2015


2 Responses to ‘Dark Confluence’ – Book 1 of ‘The Darkening’ trilogy

  1. Pingback: Dark Confluence by Rosemary Fryth - Awesome Gang

  2. Pingback: Dark Confluence by Rosemary Fryth | Book Goodies

Leave a Reply